276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Revelation (The Shardlake series, 4)

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

The strange stone, which fell from the sky, brings good fortune at first; healing a disabled boy and even leading to a decent catch of furs.

Revelation (Sansom novel) - Wikipedia

King Henry VIII has just declared himself Supreme Head of the Church. The country is heavily divided between those faithful to the Catholic Church and those loyal to the throne and the newly formed Church of England. The second mystery involves Shardlake's young client Adam, a boy who used to be cheerful, strong, and healthy, who has turned to obsessive prayer and tuned out the rest of the world. He's been committed to Bedlam, in part because what he's doing is crazy, but also to protect him from religious persecution. Public displays of heretical thought lead to burning at the stake. Sansom provides a look at the infamous Bethlehem Hospital, giving his readers another taste of life in Tudor England. Revelation (2008), a historical mystery novel by Christopher John Sansom, is the fourth book in the Matthew Shardlake series. Set in England in 1543, it follows a lawyer and his assistant as they hunt for whoever murdered a fellow lawyer. Shortlisted for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award, critics praise it for its complex, layered plot and historical accuracy. Sansom writes historical novels with crime and mystery elements, and he is best known for the Matthew Shardlake novels. Before writing full-time, Sansom practiced as a solicitor in England. It’s been twelve years since Churchill lost to the appeasers and Britain gave in to Nazi Germany. Not only is the media tightly controlled, but British Jews also face ever tougher restrictions. Any issues with the book list you are seeing? Or is there an author or series we don’t have? Let me know!Sunday Times Culture - Your 100 Best Holiday Reads Sansom’s evocation of 16th century London amidst the turmoil of the Reformation is compelling.

Revelation Summary | SuperSummary Revelation Summary | SuperSummary

When one of Elizabeth's distant Norfolk relative is terribly murdered, Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton come in to assist with the investigation I will be honest. When I saw that this book was dealing with elements of the book of Revelation, I was a bit nervous. I thought it was going to be extremely dark and so apocalyptic that I would not enjoy it. However, Sansom proved that he could make a thriller and still keep the characters that I have come to love and enjoy just as engaging and real to me as they have been in the previous novels. You can never judge a novel by its title, you have to read the book to understand the author’s motive behind their title choice.

Early and Personal Life

Arriving to conduct the investigation is Sir Symon Cole and his spouse, Gwenllian, who soon learn that undertone voices suggest that what happened to the prior, was an act of divine punishment. Kudos, Mr. Sansom, for keeping me curious and wanting to know more. There may be many who write about Tudor times, but your mysteries offer a wonderfully unique angle.

Revelation by C. J. Sansom: 9780143116240

Shardlake is a wonderful character who has grown and improved as a character through the series. He is supported by Barak, for whom Matthew tries to do a bit of marriage counseling, and Guy, a Moor, once a monk, now a doctor. Sansom has said that he plans to write further Shardlake novels taking the lawyer into the reign of Elizabeth I. [1] Description [ edit ] When the maiden performance of The Play of Adam at Oseney Priory is riddled with tragedy, the playwright releases a stern message meant for posterity: 'Beware the sins of envy and vainglory, else foul murder ends your story'. Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, he attended the University of Birmingham where he pursued a BA and a PhD in history. As revolutionary Protestants attempt to wipe out the old religion, the Protector's lengthy war with Scotland has brought the country’s economy to its knees.As Shardlake works on the case, he realizes there is a political link, after all. Torn between keeping the king out of the investigations and exploring every possible suspect, Shardlake’s job isn’t easy. No one wants the added pressure of the king scrutinizing their every move, and so, it is Shardlake’s job to ensure the king doesn’t know anything about the murders—and the potential link to Catherine Parr. Perfect for fans of HIlary Mantel and Philippa Gregory, C. J. Sansom's bestselling adventures of Matthew Shardlake continue in the fourth book, the haunting Revelation. Absolutely fantastic author of the Shardlake series, have heard rumours of an eighth book in the series, Sincerely hope it’s true Reply

Sansom Books in Order (Complete Series List) C.J. Sansom Books in Order (Complete Series List)

Tal vez sea porque me ha pillado una mala época, primero vacaciones y luego estuve enfermo, pero lo cierto es que no terminé de disfrutar esta novela como las anteriores. Quiero decir, gustarme me ha gustado, pero no ha llegado al punto de enganche de no retorno en el cual solo quieres leer y leer. Then there is the mystery, which I know is supposed to be the main point. Though it is expertly done, this is only part of the attraction of the novel for me. The cases that Matthew is wrapped up in for this installment once again bring him closer to court than he is comfortable with, and the reader is given a fun glimpse of the Seymour brothers as Henry VIII nears his end and targets his final wife, Catherine Parr. Shardlake has agrees to take on the case of a lad who has been diagnosed as mad and who is in the asylum called Bedlam. People are starting to think that his mania will get him sentenced as a heretic.Sansom also said that he plans to write further Shardlake novels taking the lawyer into the reign of Elizabeth I. [2] C. J. Sansom’s novels, set amid the stench and scandal of the 16th century, are impressive both for their intricate detail and serpentine plot twists., Independent Books of the Year Terror stalks Tudor London in this latest pungently atmospheric novel from the master of the historical murder mystery., Sunday Times Culture

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment